Gulliver's Travels

Gulliver's Travels

28?October 1726

The books has 4 chapters. in "A Voyage to Lilliput" Gulliver is washed ashore after a shipwreck. in "A Voyage to Brobdingnag" Strange things happen to him , and the story continues in "A Voyage to Laputa, Balnibarbi , Luggnagg, Gl...

Share : facebook linkedin twitter

SatireNovelAdventure fictionChildren's literatureFantasy

240 Pages

Available Formats :

kindleaudiobookhardcoverpaperbackmass market paperback

Book Content

The books has 4 chapters. in "A Voyage to Lilliput" Gulliver is washed ashore after a shipwreck. in "A Voyage to Brobdingnag" Strange things happen to him , and the story continues in "A Voyage to Laputa, Balnibarbi , Luggnagg, Glubbdubdrib and Japan, A Voyage to the Land of the Houyhnhnms" chapters

Gulliver's Travels, or Travels into Several Remote Nations of the World. In Four Parts. By Lemuel Gulliver, First a Surgeon, and then a Captain of Several Ships is a prose satire of 1726


Jonathan Swift (30 November 1667 – 19 October 1745) was an Anglo-Irish satirist, essayist, political pamphleteer (first for the Whigs, then for the Tories), poet and cleric who became Dean of St Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin, hence his common sobriquet, "Dean Swift".


Swift is remembered for works such as A Tale of a Tub (1704), An Argument Against Abolishing Christianity (1712), Gulliver's Travels (1726), and A Modest Proposal (1729). He is regarded by the Encyclopædia Britannica as the foremost prose satirist in the English language and is less well known for his poetry. He originally published all of his works under pseudonyms – such as Lemuel Gulliver, Isaac Bickerstaff, M. B. Drapier – or anonymously. He was a master of two styles of satire, the Horatian and Juvenalian styles.


His deadpan, ironic writing style, particularly in A Modest Proposal, has led to such satire being subsequently termed "Swiftian"


Gulliver's Travels is the story of Lemuel Gulliver, a surgeon who takes to the seas. He completes many voyages without incident, but his final four journeys take him to some of the strangest lands on the planet, where he discovers the virtues and flaws in his own culture by comparing it with others.

The books has 4 chapters:


  • 1.1 Part I: A Voyage to Lilliput


  • 1.2 Part II: A Voyage to Brobdingnag


  • 1.3 Part III: A Voyage to Laputa, Balnibarbi, Luggnagg, Glubbdubdrib and Japan


  • 1.4 Part IV: A Voyage to the Land of the Houyhnhnms




This political satire by Jonathan Swift is published by Sterling Publishing and is written for adults but is sometimes studied by kids ages 16 and up.


The Book review:

By: Shivali Singla

Book Blurb: Gulliver’s Travels


Gulliver’s Travels describes the four voyages of Lemuel Gulliver, a ship’s surgeon. In Lilliput he discovers a world in miniature; towering over the people and their city, he is able to view their society from the viewpoint of a god. However, in Brobdingnag, a land of giants, tiny Gulliver himself comes under observation, exhibited as a curiosity at markets and fairs.


In Laputa, a flying island, he encounters a society of speculators and projectors who have lost all grip on everyday reality; while they plan and calculate, their country lies in ruins.


Gulliver’s final voyage takes him to the land of the Houyhnhnms, gentle horses whom he quickly comes to admire — in contrast to the Yahoos, filthy bestial creatures who bear a disturbing resemblance to humans. This text, based on the first edition of 1726, reproduces all the original illustrations and includes an introduction by Robert Demaria, Jr, which discusses the ways Gulliver’s Travels has been interpreted since its first publication.


For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines.

Book Review: Gulliver’s Travels


I read this engaging novel again in my graduation days and one thing is for sure that every writer must read it and so should every reader. This beautiful piece of fiction is an adventure novel and Gulliver’s travel journey. In this book, Gulliver’s adventures are divided into four parts.


The first part is a Voyage to Lilliput where Gulliver finds himself in the land of miniature people which are less than 6 inches tall and where you could see him as a giant among the race of little people. The second part is a voyage to Brobdingnag where he turns too little for your interpretations and people over there are like giants to him. The third part is a voyage to Laputa which is a floating island and then the last part which is a Voyage to the Land of the Houyhnhnms.



So, Gulliver’s Travels ends on a thought-provoking note at the place where gulliver enters the country of Houyhnhnms comparing humans to the status of an animal.


This book makes you a lover of satire beautifully penned in an interesting travel story. With lots of imagery, imaginations, and reality at play, this novel will definitely inspire you to keep on turning pages. The narration is great, but the language is not quite that simple or easy to grasp. Overall, the story has so many in-depth meanings that ensure you to grab a copy of it.


Although as a fiction Gulliver’s Travels has done fairly well as other novels, as an adventure novel and the so-called satirical novel, the author has done complete justice to the plot, words and the characters. I would highly recommend this book to the travel lovers.




Book Publishers

# Logo Name Book cover Book weight Book dimensions ISBN


Subscribe to our newsletter to receive new released books and exclusive offers. No spam.

user placeholder image

© Copyright 2020 Cotion. All Rights Reserved