Ivanhoe is the story of one of the remaining Anglo-Saxon noble families at a time when the nobility in England was overwhelmingly Norman. It follows the Saxon protagonist, Sir Wilfred of Ivanhoe, who is out of favour with his father for his allegianc...

Share : facebook linkedin twitter

NovelHistorical FictionRomance

544 Pages

Available Formats :

kindleaudiobookhardcoverpaperbackmass market paperback

Book Content

Ivanhoe is the story of one of the remaining Anglo-Saxon noble families at a time when the nobility in England was overwhelmingly Norman. It follows the Saxon protagonist, Sir Wilfred of Ivanhoe, who is out of favour with his father for his allegiance to the Norman king Richard the Lionheart.

Ivanhoe  is a historical novel by Sir Walter Scott, first published in late 1819 in three volumes and subtitled A Romance. At the time it was written it represented a shift by Scott away from fairly realistic novels set in Scotland in the comparatively recent past, to a somewhat fanciful depiction of medieval England. It has proved to be one of the best known and most influential of Scott's novels.


Ivanhoe is set in 12th-century England with colourful descriptions of a tournament, outlaws, a witch trial and divisions between Jews and Christians. It has been credited for increasing interest in romance and medievalism; John Henry Newman claimed Scott "had first turned men's minds in the direction of the Middle Ages", while Thomas Carlyle and John Ruskin made similar assertions of Scott's overwhelming influence over the revival, based primarily on the publication of this novel. It has also had an important influence on popular perceptions of Richard the Lionheart, King John and Robin Hood.

Sir Walter Scott, 1st Baronet FRSE FSA Scot (15 August 1771 – 21 September 1832) was a Scottish historical novelist, poet, playwright and historian. Many of his works remain classics of both English-language literature and of Scottish literature. Famous titles include Ivanhoe, Rob Roy, Old Mortality, The Lady of the Lake, Waverley, The Heart of Midlothian and The Bride of Lammermoor.

Although primarily remembered for his extensive literary works and his political engagement, Scott was an advocate, judge and legal administrator by profession, and throughout his career combined his writing and editing work with his daily occupation as Clerk of Session and Sheriff-Depute of Selkirkshire.



Opening, The tournament, Capture and rescue, Rebecca's trial and Ivanhoe's reconciliation.




Reviewed by David J. Marcou

British Romanticism thrived during the early Industrial Age, led by such poets as Coleridge, Wordsworth and Keats; painters such as Constable and Turner; and novelists like Sir Walter Scott.

The two Sir Walter Scott novels (part of his famed Waverly series) most popular today are Ivanhoe and Rob Roy. Ivanhoe is one of Scott’s most complex yet effective writings, evoking vivid images of what Britain must have been like from the Middle Ages to early Renaissance.


The first great author of historical romances, Walter Scott was born in Edinburgh in 1771. After graduating from Edinburgh University, he was admitted to the bar in 1792. From 1799 until his death in 1832, he was sheriff of Selkirkshire, and from 1806-30 he was also principal clerk to the chief Scottish civil court. In addition, from 1805 on, Scott was a secret and controlling investor in the Ballantyne brothers’ printing businesses.


Despite having polio early, conflicts in his teens with his lawyer father, romantic rejection in his 20s (moving on to marry Charlotte Carpenter, who bore him five children, the first dying soon after birth) and near financial ruin in his 50s, Scott proved an energetic translator, poet and novelist. His first significant original work, The Lay of the Last Minstrel (1805), began his series of narrative poems focusing on events and settings from Scottish history.


After declining the poet laureateship in 1813 (recommending Robert Southey instead), Scott moved into fiction. Waverly (1814) and its sequels fictionalized the political, social, economic, cultural, military and religious conflicts of Scottish history. Some novels in that series, beginning with Ivanhoe (1819), even extended back into the England of the Middle Ages.


This is an adventure story. Wilfred of Ivanhoe is a Saxon knight returned from the Crusades still loyal to Richard Plantagenet. It is filled with colorful figures, both fictional and historic, fair and foul: Richard the Lion-Hearted; the beautiful Jewess Rebecca; her father, Isaac; beloved and beautiful Rowena; Cedric the Saxon; Robin Hood and his Merry Men; the infamous Prince John; Knight Templar Sir Brian de Bois-Guilbert; helpful hag Urfried; loyal manservant Gurth; and the simple jester Wamba.


The conflict Ivanhoe faces is between “ancient” and “modern” fealties—not so much Norman versus Saxon or Jewish versus Christian, but humane versus inhuman. Or more simply, good versus evil. It is an imagined world striving to be modern in the face of prejudices and fantasies, virtues and vices. Jousts are fought on many levels, and despite its trials, good triumphs in the end.


Scott was something of a righteous knight himself. Created a baronet in 1820, he nearly became insolvent during the financial crisis of 1825-26 along with his printer (Ballantyne) and his publishers (Constable, et al.). He chose not to declare bankruptcy and instead worked hard to pay his debts. Despite failing health, he continued to write new novels, as well as revise and annotate earlier ones. He also wrote a nine-volume Life of Napoleon and a four-volume history of Scotland (Tales of a Grandfather).


Sir Walter Scott’s creditors were paid from his literary proceeds soon after his death, and his works are still read and revered today. Despite the cynicism of our modern world, perhaps we still like to be reminded that there are timeless virtues.

Book Publishers

# Logo Name Book cover Book weight Book dimensions ISBN


Subscribe to our newsletter to receive new released books and exclusive offers. No spam.

user placeholder image

© Copyright 2020 Cotion. All Rights Reserved